Photo du jour – Hérédité

Hérédité

Hérédité

Nature

To Paul, a strange family tree…

32 réflexions sur “Photo du jour – Hérédité

  1. Julie. When I look at this photograph, I see a « Sentinel. » I see one who has stood through time and recorded faithfully every happiness and sadness throughout the days. It only asks in return to enjoy it’s being. This tree and your photograph of it shows this.

      • That’s one of the finest compliments I have every received. It will have me waxing poetic all day! When I was young, knee high to a grasshopper, I was taught by a little old jewish lady to really see what I was looking at. Before that I guess I only saw the big picture and not the little details that make up the same. Mrs. Weinstein was her name. She was my tutor. She always smelled like cigarettes and coffee, but what a nice lady.

      • I suppose it helped. Many things shape who we are. There may be a core foundation which is molded by experiences through the years. Mrs. Weinstein was one of those.

      • It’s funny, I’m wondering which important person I could talk about in a conversation like ours, who would be « my Mrs. Weinstein »… And I just can’t make up my mind. There are several very important persons and I can’t make a choice !

      • Then they are all equally important to you and you should talk about them all. I too feel like you and I have some very nice conversations. I thank you for that. Now that I think about it some more I realize that you are right. There are many people who influence who we are and another of mine was my uncle Bill. He taught me the importance of cleaning your tools after you use them, how to fish (your not holding your mouth right if you aren’t catching any fish), how to paint and how to drive the riding lawnmower. Actually, my asking him to show me how to drive that mower was probably one of the worst things I did. From then on I had to use it to cut our grass. Anyway, I miss him.

      • It is obvious that you are not only a grass cutter, but a writer, the way you depict this lady and your uncle makes them so lively ! 🙂
        Your uncle Bill seems an interesting character too, did you write a novel about him ? 😉

        I remember… My mother used to sit me on her lap and draw and make me do drawings. My father made me invent stories that he typed on a typewriter. My grandfather made me understand how precious was any pebble. When I was six I built a house for pebbles. My little sister taught me deep, true love. My young brother taught me unconditional love.

        I know, it’s all about my family… There are so many other people I could talk about ! But the photo which was a starting point to this conversation is called « Heredity », so there’s a kind of consistency !
        And without my family, I have to say, I wouldn’t be here anymore. So… They are very much part of me.

      • Oh, I can write somewhat in short bursts, but then that fads away. I had rather write with my photographs. Photographs speak volumes if you really see what your looking at. As far a grass cutting, I do love the smell of fresh cut grass in the summertime. Rain on a summer day and winter for that matter. I guess I have always been a visual person, I notice things about people, places, that tends to leave a mark. Smells too leave their mark. For me I guess, visual is the most important and Mrs. Weinstein helped me to really see what I was looking at. Here’s another person who influenced me: One day, down in Robertsdale, Alabama when I was very young, I was outside standing in my Uncle’s and his wife’s driveway watching ants go down their little hole in the ground. My uncle’s wife, Elsi, was standing next to me as I put a small stone over the ant’s hole. She did not say anything, but simple bent over and removed the stone. She didn’t say anything about that. Her actions were enough. To this day, when I see a small creature, ants, snails, etc, I think about my Aunt Elsi and the ant in the driveway.

        A funny story. One day my Uncle Bill and I were down on the river fishing. I asked him to let me drive the boat. He hesitated a minute then said ok. We switched places and I got ready to move it out. Uncle Bill told me to turn the throttle on the outboard engine slowly and I thought I did. Well, it seems I didn’t turn it slowly enough. The boat stood on end with Uncle Bill up front holding on for dear life. He never let me drive the boat again. Maybe he would have after I got older, but he passed away before that could happen.

      • I am glad to hear that. It makes me happy. I am a moody person who is happiest when out in nature exploring and taking photos. There is a mountain top (around 11,000 feet above sea level) near here where I am truly the happiest.

      • It’s just hilly here but the nature is superb, and I don’t feel better than out taking photos too ! I really need it, I couldn’t live in town anymore.

      • Here is a link for Special People & Places With Margaret Lee. I hope the links works, she is in Townley, Alabama where my father, his brother Bill and his brother Tom were born and raised. My mother is in this episode also. If the link doesn’t go to « Historical Townley » you will have to scroll down. Lost Creek is one of my favorite places there.

        Here is the link

      • The link doesn’t appear in your comment, there’s a problem with WordPress to copy/paste them apparently. Would you please send it by email ?

      • Good Morning Julia. I will send that link by e-mail as soon as possible.

        Kerry

Laisser un commentaire

